Trent Media Awards 2015: Nominees Announced

Trent Media Logo

The annual Trent Media Awards is back for 2015 to celebrate another successful year of student media and to recognise the hardworking members behind your student union’s favourite media channels. This year is set to be bigger and better with live music provided from local talents such as Yasmin Issaka and Josh Kemp. Capital FM Drivetime presenters and former Trent Media alumni Tom and Claire will be returning to host the awards for another highly entertaining evening.

Below are the list of nominees for Platform and Fly FM. The top three awards for each station and the full list of awards for Trent TV will be announced on Saturday night.


Best Contribution to News

James Bavin, Elif Gun, Adam Surtee

Best Contribution to Culture

Grace Nelder, Tori Rose, Adam Surtee

Best Contribution to Lifestyle

Nicole Cottrell, Abby Mchale, May-Anne Oltmans

Best Contribution to Fashion and Beauty

Sabrina Mebtouche, Charlotte Millichamp, Ella Walker

Best Contribution to Sport

Alex Clarke, Rob Conlon

Best Contribution to Gaming and Technology

Pear Churwich, Charlotte Smith, Hayden Timms

Best Contribution to Photography, Art & Design

Callum Baigrie, Elsa Druiett, Amy Hamilton

Best Contribution to Music

Anna Butler, Matt Davies, Lucy Thompson

Best Designer

Aaron Kelwick, Luke Kolbohm

The following awards are announced on the night:

Most Improved

Best Section

Outstanding Contribution to Platform



Best Newcomer

Harley Baptiste, Ryan Beake, Tom Docherty

Best Contribution to Sport

Mike Atkins, Jarleth Eaton, Chloe Nelson

Most Improved

Harvey Hancott, Lydia Meredith, Billy Taylor

Best Journalistic Contribution

Vicki Cummins, Helen Everett

Best Feature

Tristan’s Pub Quiz (Tristan Hall), Tea vs Scones (James Lewer), Peculiar Toast (Matt Curtis & Jess Armstrong)

Best Morning Show

Harley Baptiste, Jess Lloyd, Matt & Jess

Best Afternoon Show

Ryan Beake, Lydia Meredith, Mark Spencer

Best Fly in the Evening

Lucy Harding, Trent Sport, Alex Tracey

Best Specialist Show

The Hip Hop Hour with Alex Gildea Trott, The Bollywood Spice Hour with Hanisha Sethi, Technostrasse with Tom Dodge

The following awards are announced on the night:

Volunteer of the Year

Ocean Devotion

Outstanding Contribution to Fly FM



The following awards are announced on the night:

Best Newcomer

Biggest Ambition

Best Local Coverage

Most Creative Contribution

Best Promotional Effort

Most Improved

Best Broadcaster

Best Live Coverage

Outstanding Journalistic Contribution

Volunteer of the Year

Ocean Devotion

Outstanding Contribution to Trent TV

This year’s Trent Media Awards will take place in Spanky Van Dyke’s on Saturday 23rd May. The event is free for all members of Trent Media.